Defeat Creative Constipation: Just Show Up!

ImageWriter’s block has been following me around over the past couple of days with more persistence than the hemorrhoids did during my second pregnancy. Sometimes, creative constipation hits when life takes aim with both barrels and peppers me with calamity. Other times, I find myself bound up by the clogged toilets of my existence. On the flip side of that—joy can rob me of the discipline needed to uncork something wonderful as well. Ever been just too happy to make something?  That kind of YEEHAW feels magnificent—until I have deadlines. Then I find myself trying to dig the hairballs out of my creative pipes so something can flow to the damnable empty screen. Ever change the color of your word processing background just so it’s not so white?

Earlier in the week, I shared my little wogging adventures with my iPod. If I have time and child care each day, my waddles through the soybean field provide daily fiber and keep writer’s blockage at bay.  No matter how much fiber I take in, sometimes I just have to sit at this computer and strain. And it hurts!

A wonderful artist friend of mine who paints seven days a week once told me, “Just show up every day at the same time.” Since she has paintings in galleries all over the world, this must work magically for her.

“If you don’t show up for your creativity, the spirits won’t think you’re serious, and they won’t help you,” she said.

God, how true is that? The Muse has been known to go silent for long periods of time when I blow off my work for something else, like closet cleaning or sufficient house maintenance to keep the health department at bay. As I look around this room, toys, baby wipes, sippy cups, a dishtowel (a dishtowel?), hair bows, books, and another dishtowel (how the hell did two dishtowels find their way into the living room?) cover this floor. The room smells funny. Everyone could use some clean underwear; I’m thinking we may have to all go commando.  The Muse, however, had been keeping me busy. She’d been right there tapping me on the shoulder, whispering profane things into my ear.

The wily wench has been testing me for the last couple of days, though. She stays quiet until I come to the computer. She makes me sit here sometimes, pushing. She carries me to the brink of my time limitations, then she spews.

Today is an excellent example.  A healthy dose of Ick recently fell on my head. In times past, Ick sends me running from the computer with my tail between my legs, but not anymore. Today, I’m learning that I can unplug my own creative constipation by dragging myself out of bed and plopping it in front of the computer. How do you unpop your cork?

This blog post brought to you by the makers of “Get Off Your Ass and Make Something,” a soul laxative and perfect antidote to your everyday ICK.      

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clownonfire
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:52:53

    Dear Jenn,

    “This blog post brought to you by the makers of “Get Off Your Ass and Make Something,” a soul laxative and perfect antidote to your everyday ICK.”

    Le Clown thinks you are funny. Is there place for two funny bloggers in the blogosphere? Really? I’m asking you…
    Le VERY FUCKING FUNNY Clown

    Reply

    • Jennifer Worrell
      Apr 28, 2012 @ 01:56:25

      Of course, Le Clown Magnifique et drole…or should I use le mot “desopilant?” I forgot all my francais…I think you’re pretty damn funny, too:) However, we need to learn to whore out our funny so we can make l’argent, non?

      Reply

  2. deanjbaker
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 14:01:37

    at least you don’t get all the crappy jobs, Jenn – :-)

    Reply

  3. Latitudes of a Day
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 14:25:32

    Some very sage words: “If you don’t show up for your creativity, the spirits won’t think you’re serious, and they won’t help you,” she said.
    Let ‘em go commando. It won’t hurt ‘em. Do you hear that sound? “P O P!”

    Reply

  4. JKBradley
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 17:04:26

    Insightful. And Clownonfire beat me to the ‘enema’ joke…damn you clown! (shakes fist at the heavens). I think interacting in a prompt helps loosen the bindings. MadisonWoods does her flash fiction on fridays and I’ve proposed a prompt on my page, if you would like to take a look.

    Reply

  5. craftcrazygran
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 18:29:40

    It’s not writers’ block that gets me. It’s simply not having enough time! Then there is stupid slow bandwidth – dial-up and country living mean all of 4kbps most days. Sometimes its many attempts to publish! BB is much better, but haven’t worked out tags, links, etc on it! Grrr!

    Reply

  6. El Guapo
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 20:56:25

    Sometimes I try to write even when there are no ideas just to keep the pipes clean. When I read what I’ve written after , I’m pretty sure the Pepto Bissoul has managed to push out whatever was blocking me.
    All over the page.
    eh, what can you do?

    Reply

  7. doncarroll
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:27:13

    very funny jenn. the constipation seems to have left you. it looks smooth here to me.

    Reply

  8. Jen and Tonic
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 04:39:35

    I find that when I can’t write, I talk out loud to myself. Pretty soon I’ve written a whole post out loud.

    Note: Don’t do this in a Starbucks. They’ll never let you come back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

