Please Come Get My Imaginary Friends

The destruction in the kitchen made me draw quick breaths and pray for patience. Milk dripped from the counter, down the cabinets, and pooled beside crushed cookies on the freshly-cleaned floor.

“Would you care to explain this?” I asked Lil’ K. who was hiding behind the center island.

“Wee-eee-lll,” she drawled, “Ya seeeeeee…I was eating my cookies.”

“And?”

“And I was drinking my milk,” she continued.

“Then what?” I asked.

“I heard a sound like thunder,” Lil’ K. lowered her voice, and thunder rumbled distantly outside. “Like that!”

“How did this mess happen?” I asked.

“Peter Pan came flying in here because Captain Hook was chasing him and firing his cannons at him. They spilled my milk and knocked my cookies in the floor,” she said. “Mr. Smee wouldn’t clean it up, and here I am. In twubble ‘cause Captain Hook is tearing up the kitchen again.”

Three truths followed by the old imaginary friends excuse has become more common since Lil’ K. turned four. The other day, Jake and the Neverland Pirates stole her younger brother’s favorite tractor and hid it. I turned the house upside down looking for the damn thing so Lil’ P. would stop screaming. I found the toy in the refrigerator by some cheese. Lil’ K.’s cries replaced those of Lil’ P. when she found she’d have to serve time-out on Jake’s behalf.

“If you can’t keep your imaginary friends under control, you’ll have to do the time for their crimes,” I told her.

The other day, Lil’ K. came running up and informed me that her imaginary friends, Dorothy and Daisy were saying mean things to her.

“And you want me to…?”  I asked. Everyone always told me that boys are easier. Apparently, this is true. My girl is starting drama with friends that aren’t even real.

“Make them stop,” she told me.

“Quit saying mean things,” I firmly told the air.

“Thanks, Mama,” Lil’ K. gave me a hug. “You’re the best.”

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Gal Herself
    May 06, 2012 @ 18:50:23

    Aw, K is very lucky to have a mommy who “gets it.” Nicely done.

    Reply

  2. doncarroll
    May 06, 2012 @ 19:37:40

    a very nice and cool handling of the situation. i have imaginary friends when i get to sleep, but ya know how that goes…hehe

    Reply

  3. craftcrazygran
    May 06, 2012 @ 20:09:36

    Oh those damn imaginary friends! They are soooo damned naughty! We had some stay at our house too. But then our Great Dane, Pasha, started drawing on walls, throwing toys around, hiding things etc! My children were angels astounded at Pasha’s naughtiness!

    Reply

  4. Tara R.
    May 06, 2012 @ 20:10:26

    My imaginary friend’s was named Ida Know, she was always getting me in trouble. This was a cute look into a little kid’s play world. I like that the mother (you?) didn’t dismiss the friends but still could dispense discipline.

    Reply

  5. English Rose-C
    May 06, 2012 @ 20:40:08

    Nicely handled!
    My Mum tells me I didn’t have imaginary friends – but instead an imaginary dog. The dog vanished/ceased when my parents bought a real one when I was 2 yo.

    Reply

  6. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen)
    May 06, 2012 @ 21:39:17

    Hoooboy. It sounds like it’s a good thing she’s got a Mama as creative as she is.

    Reply

  7. LetMeStartBySaying (@LetMeStart)
    May 07, 2012 @ 00:22:12

    “If you can’t keep your imaginary friends under control, you’ll have to do the time for their crimes,” I told her. <– LMAO!!! Nicely done.

    Reply

  8. suburbanclairvoyant
    May 07, 2012 @ 00:38:36

    Ya know, sometimes it just the being on their side (against things real or imaginary) that counts. Great post!

    Reply

  9. jannatwrites
    May 07, 2012 @ 03:54:41

    Neither one of our kids had imaginary friends, so I don’t know if I would have figured out how to handle it so well. Glad you got them to stop picking on her :)

    Reply

  10. Imelda
    May 07, 2012 @ 04:35:48

    That is great handling of the friends. I hope they learn to be nice. :-)) Great response to the challenge.

    Reply

  11. Sandra
    May 07, 2012 @ 05:03:45

    Good on you for being firm with the air! What a great story!

    Reply

  12. Trifecta (@trifectawriting)
    May 07, 2012 @ 12:38:42

    Ha, nicely done. I think there have been a few of those imaginary friends in our house a couple of times too. I enjoyed this a lot. Thanks for linking up.

    Reply

  13. Jen and Tonic
    May 10, 2012 @ 04:14:55

    I should have used the “imaginary friend” bit when my mom found cigarettes in my purse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

