Random Things I Do When Stuck in a Plot-Hole

Sometimes when I’m feeling blue, I sit on my ass and watch satellite TV. Even with a couple hundred channels, my choices sucked today. Two women were trying to sell me Quacker Factory T-shirts with icky little jewels on them on the shopping channels, and I’d seen all the Toddlers in Tiaras episodes during my last bout with the blahs.  I stumbled upon Morgan Freeman’s Through the Wormhole on the Science Channel.  I hung with Morgan and learned about black holes and whether they destroy matter completely as Steven Hawking said or if black holes reorganize matter (in a sickening, painful manner) and store it in their centers as Leonard Susskind said. I know string theory is beautiful and all, but I looked it up on “String Theory for Dummies.” When you take away all the big physics words that I don’t understand, string theory really is about a bunch of strings. Can you imagine writing the grant to fund all that?

The next hour of Through the Wormhole I watched involved dark matter, or the stuff in the universe that we can’t see. It looks as though dark matter holds the visible in place. I guess the whole dichotomy of light and dark is true—you can’t know one without understanding the other. Of course, my oversimplification of all of this reveals to the universe that I ran screaming from math and physics in high school and college, but I did watch What the Bleep Do We Know twice. My two hours with the uber cool and smart Morgan Freeman reminded me of something I already know. One can’t feel true joy without understanding sadness. Fulfillment remains elusive without boredom. String theory wouldn’t exist without strings. Sorry, that last one smacks of smart-assdom and reveals my extreme intellectual inferiority; even then, how can we have smart asses without dumb asses? In my little mommy world, how do we appreciate clean asses without disgusting ones?

By the way, I’m no longer blue.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dianasschwenk
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 12:41:44

    Good to hear that you kicked the blues and yes I agree, everything has two sides and you can’t have one without the other. Happy writing!

    Reply

  2. theantijane
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:45:59

    Sometimes I feel like I’ve fallen into a Black Hole and the only thing that can pull me out is a Morgan Freeman voice over. :)

    Reply

  3. crubin
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 14:46:44

    I am impressed by your TV viewing. I feel inferior having watched a recorded episode of “Rizolli and Isles” last night. But I like your take on it and agree with your conclusions. Especially the dumbass/smartass one. ;)

    Reply

  4. El Guapo
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 15:10:22

    Lovely way to wrap it back around to the trifecta word!
    String theory is so much more than just string, but reduced to that, it’s still pretty cool!

    And when stuck in a plot hole, heed the advice of Jim Henson on how to close out a Muppet sketch that has no end: “Blow something up.”

    Reply

  5. Annabelle
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 17:41:19

    That kind of physics makes my head hurt, but it might be more palatable with Morgan Freeman involved. I could use a little something to get me out of the blahs too!

    Reply

  6. braintomahawk
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 20:02:09

    The world itself is a little blue…dot – I try not to look at that perspective compared to the rest of the universe ;)

    Reply

  7. Renada Styles
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 20:20:30

    quite true, and i love how morgan freeman was the narrator to all this as he oft is haha

    Reply

  8. trifectawriting
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 00:52:43

    Thanks for linking up with Trifecta this week. Having spent an hour last night watching The Duggars, I can appreciate your tangling with dark matter all the more. I love your stream of consciousness here and how you managed to come back around to the prompt at the end of it all. Great job!

    Reply

  9. jannatwrites
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 02:01:03

    Physics and Math aren’t my thing, either. Your TV watching is much more educational than mine…I end up watching Pawn Stars or House Hunters :) Glad you aren’t blue anymore!

    Reply

  10. Imelda
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 02:18:56

    I like you sentence about the dichotomy of light and dark. How true.
    And my hats off to you for being able to grasp the big physics concept. :-)

    Reply

  11. blissflower1969
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 15:00:27

    It never ceases to amaze me that the more channels we have, the less actual good options we have. I do enjoy “Through the Wormhole” though. I like how they can dumb down the concepts for folks like me. It fascinates me, but my brain just doesn’t work that way. Dark matter fascinates me.

    Thanks for your insights. And congrats on beating the blahs.

    Reply

  12. Smaktakula
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 03:54:02

    If only Dr. Hawking had Morgan Freeman’s voice (not that Dr. H’s voice isn’t damn sexy already), that guy would rule the world.

    Reply

  13. craftcrazygran
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 10:52:02

    I had a great science teacher, sorry can’t remember her name. But if it had been MF or JEJ I’m sure I’d have done better! I love the science and nature programmes, it extends your horizons in fab ways. Understanding everything is not a requirement, thank goodness! Getting you thinking and investigating and interested in the topic is the important thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

