Lil’ P. Climbs His Way to a Colorful Vocabulary

For some months now, I’ve been looking forward to some milestones in Lil’ P.’s development. Please don’t misunderstand—I am not trying to speed up time. If you follow this blog, you learned how well I handled my children growing up in yesterday’s post. I do, however, wish Lil’ P. would pick up a few things at a more accelerated pace.

For instance, his insistence on climbing walls in public causes me some concern, as does his tendency to throw himself on the floor limply when I try to remove him from said walls. People look on in amused amazement, when, from his vantage point on the floor, Lil’ P. attempts to drag himself back to whatever he feels needs climbing while I firmly grip the back of his pants. The other day, I accidently bent over in front of two dads to keep Lil’ P. from climbing the outside of a Chick-Fil-A playset. Mr. Jenn, who had disappeared briefly to buy a half-dozen chocolate chip cookies all for me for the children, saw my sexy gymnastics and felt the need to tell me that both fathers gave me about a seven.

At least my pants didn’t split. Nor did Lil’ P’s. There’s something to be said about Osh Kosh.

I am also hoping that even before he stops climbing people public facilities, he improves his verbal skills. His precious babbles confuse me at times. The good news is, though, that he finally learned the word “truck.” The bad news is that he has a tr-/f reversal.

I guess that’s why the cute young mothers on the toy truck aisle at Wal-Mart curled their lips in disdain at me for allowing my toddler son to point and repeatedly scream “dumfuck” at them while he’s clapping his hands in delight.

Silly mothers.

Another verbal confusion happened in our living room yesterday while Big A. and Lil’ K. enjoyed their hundredth or so screening of Bambi. Upon noting the scene where Bambi first sees his impressive stud of a father, Lil’ P. pointed in the direction of the TV and hollered, “Dick! Dick!”

Big A., naturally, rolled off the couch snickering and probably Tweeted about the entire incident.

Apparently, Lil’ P. got so excited about the big deer that he sat on the shelf right beside the television. Naturally, I had to pull him off by his pants, he screamed, and everyone missed the pivotal scene where Bambi’s mother explains that the big buck is his father. That could have possibly cleared up Lil’ P.’s confusion, or made it worse. I’m not sure.

Soon after, Lil’ P. began to chant his new word. “Dick. Dick. Dick. Dick.”

I observed him carefully. He beat on his high chair, then he gave the couch a good pounding.

Suddenly, it hit Big A. “He means `sit.’ That’s what he’s trying to say.”

I quickly put him in his high chair.

“Dick,” he said, with a satisfied smile.

So, yeah, I’m looking forward to a few milestones.

 

Mama’s Losin’ It

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the howler and me
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 13:31:02

    Good Grief – I LOVE IT!
    Next time I am out in public, I am totally going to point and yell dumfuck dumfuck dumfuck while clapping and jumping around…. that sounds like a hoot!

    Reply

  2. mylifeisthebestlife
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 14:54:31

    My twee bundle of joy leaves the “l” out of the “cl” sound. So my sister in law took GREAT JOY in teaching her about clocks. OH HOW WE LAUGHED.

    Reply

  3. Carrie Rubin
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 15:23:48

    So funny! It will be great when he says, “Dick down, Mommy.”

    When my sister was little, she struggled with Kentucky Fried Chicken. I think you can figure out which part tripped her up. ;)

    Reply

  4. braintomahawk
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 16:35:05

    He’s thinking outside the box.
    Or playset.
    When you say climb walls, do these walls have niches, shelves/displays, hooks, or anything that would make climbing them a consideration? Or are these sheer, bare walls that he is looking to scale, spidey-style?

    Reply

    • Jennifer Worrell
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 13:06:00

      Both. He likes to push chairs and boxes over to give himself a lift. When we were signing in to school, the office walls are glass, so he tried to climb the panes. If he can find something to grab above, the rubber soles on his shoes give him enough traction to push himself up the bare surface. He can make it to the top of our playset, no prob. He’s currently attempting to scale the slide, backwards. He’s so proud.

      Reply

      • braintomahawk
        Jul 30, 2012 @ 13:15:59

        Scaling the slide backwards is a definite rite of passage, especially when it is metal, you’re in shorts and its a sunny summer day. yow!

      • Jennifer Worrell
        Aug 04, 2012 @ 19:56:02

        We did that today. He nearly gave me a heart attack climbing the big slides. He got to the top of one before I could get to him and tumbled down. Poor kid looks like I beat him. He just laughs and does it again!! GAH!

  5. emily
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 17:13:56

    Ha! Gotta love it when they leave new things like that…sit is easily confused with many similar sounding words at our house…

    Reply

  6. keepcalmandloveon
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 17:19:07

    Just wait until he starts trying to spell…it’s the best! The best I’ve seen are “I lick my dick.” (aka – I like my bike.) and the child who wrote all about how she measured, weighed, and played with her penises (aka – pennies.) Yikes!

    Reply

  7. hughcurtler
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 17:24:54

    You may need to keep Big A around to translate for you! My boys loved their “dumfucks” too.

    Reply

  8. English Rose-C
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 21:13:54

    Enjoy!

    Reply

  9. dianasschwenk
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 22:41:03

    Dumfuck! LOL, it’s a wonder you don’t pee your pants from laughing in public! ummm or do you?

    Reply

  10. Awn
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 03:35:56

    Oh I love little kids and speech impediments!

    Reply

  11. Tessa
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 05:10:19

    Oh this was a blast. I laughed out loud and almost hit the floor with “I guess that’s why the cute young mothers on the toy truck aisle at Wal-Mart curled their lips in disdain at me for allowing my toddler son to point and repeatedly scream “dumfuck” at them while he’s clapping his hands in delight.”

    One memorable one for me was (and you should relate to this one LOL) when my son who was about 2 at the time and having trouble with the “sn” sound. He was outside playing by the lake and came tearing into the house and climbed on the couch shouting “nakes, nakes.” I couldn’t figure out what he meant until I remembered he called his sneakers neakers. He had seen a snake! When he got a little older he liked snakes, small ones. He had several garter snakes in his wading pool. The one he had seen was not a garter snake and we had snakes in the lake and the woods. I don’t miss living there LOL!

    Reply

  12. totsymae1011
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 10:43:38

    Well, you know. You’ve got the milestones in verbal skills. Can’t be specific about these sorta things. They just happen. It’s funny really but only when these behaviors are in private. In public, anxiety kicks in and makes one desperate for the next milestone.

    Reply

  13. gigoid
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 19:29:40

    You know it’s a really good post when your cheeks (face type) ache before it’s done…. ah, memories.. You are an ambitious woman… We had two, and it was quite sufficient to create chaos in public, especially after they learned to act in concert… That’ll be a milestone for you to look forward to….

    Reply

  14. joannerambling
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 05:13:54

    This made me think of my granddaughter who loves to point our trucks but when she says it is sounds like fuck…………it is so cute
    http://jo-annemotherandnanna.blogspot.com.au/

    Reply

  15. Annabelle
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 12:01:17

    Ah ha ha ha! I can see why you would want to rush along just one or two milestones, for your own personal sanity.

    Reply

  16. doncarroll
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 17:10:01

    very funny jenn…still laughing on that one. that’s quite the chant!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

