2012? Seriously?

Good LORD! It’s been so long since I’ve visited my blog and written anything that I don’t even recognize WordPress. Holy CRAP!

If you are a teacher, know one well, or live with one, you know that the first month or so of school are CRAZY! I haven’t had more than five hours of sleep per night for the last two weeks. There’s so much to do when you have a new class. To be honest, it’s just so much fun! I plan to elaborate in a later post.

First, I’m going to slap something up here that I wrote a week or so ago for a Monday Listicle. I never had a chance to post it or link up. To say I’m behind is kind of an understatement. Anyway, here goes!

Ten Ways I know I’m living in 2012—

  1. I have a crush on a metrasexual Olympic swimmer. It’s a Leap year and an Olympic year as well.
  2. I have to vote for the Presidential candidate I hate less this November. First, I have to listen to their shit-slingingly despicable commercials while I try to watch all my season premiers this fall. Sheldon will have to be exceptionally funny this year to off-set all the negative energy.
  3. If I had a smart phone, I could watch TV on it. Amazing. Instead, I’m too cheap to pay the $30 per month data package fee. Besides, I just bought reams of cardstock, approximately 20 crates for classroom book display, a ton of binders, hundreds of page protectors, markers, magnets, and an army of plants. Thus, I’m stuck playing Ms. Pac-Man and Asteroids on my dumb phone. Everyone else likes Kinect. I still like Atari.
  4. My four-year-old wants an iPad.
  5. My four-year-old asked me if I was going to upload some pictures onto Facebook.
  6. I have a Sam’s Club steel shelf unit in my pantry loaded with all my preserved goods, just in case the Mayans and the Doomsday Preppers on that dumb show are right.
  7. We make gas out of corn. That is so freakin’ cool to me.
  8. We are learning and advancing so quickly in our technology that the information our daughter learns this year in college will probably be obsolete by her senior year. Can we get a refund?
  9. I’m preparing fourth grade students for jobs that don’t even exist yet.
  10. Morgan Freeman just told me that everything in the future of the Universe might already exist. Through the Wormhole reminds me through each episode what a wild, wonderful world we live in.

 

I’m going to try to post weekly until I get my head above water. Have a great weekend, folks! Thanks for reading!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie Rubin
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 01:26:02

    I find it disheartening that teachers have to buy their own supplies. Can you imagine working in an office and having to supply your own chair, staplers, computer paper, etc.? You teachers deserve major kudos. Here’s hoping the kids don’t wipe their boogers on you. :)

    Reply

  2. colonialist
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 08:24:28

    *scoffingly* Oh, everyone knows that schoolteaching is SUCH a breeze. You just stand in front of a class and tell them stuff, then you get free periods, and anyway the working day is way short of normal because most schools stop in early afternoon. (But what a shock comes to those who try it!)

    Reply

  3. doncarroll
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 08:46:11

    nice to see your return. is there a difference between metrasexual and metrosexual – either way two words i hadn’t heard but sound cool. but your number 9 is the hit maker of your list. i had the data plan long before i had texting. i’ve only had texting for a month, but for a good reason – a femme – she is doing her internship with kindergarteners. a tall task i would say – hers or yours.

    Reply

  4. hughcurtler
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 12:18:54

    Great post. But as educators we need to think about preparing kids for the world, not jobs. If they can use their minds they can adapt to whatever the world throws at them and whatever jobs are available when they graduate. (Sorry, you struck a nerve there!) Have a great year. I wish all bloggers could toss out great blogs the way you do.

    Reply

  5. saradraws
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 18:09:07

    Might have to start teaching blogging to prepare them for the future. Perhaps blogging will be kaput by the time they get there, though. Then people will sneer at bloggers the way they do Myspace-rs now.
    Good luck with school. And thanks for teaching and guiding our children.

    Reply

  6. Annabelle
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 22:44:25

    Glad you’re back! And that reminds me, I still need to check out that show. Who doesn’t love Morgan Freeman?

    Reply

  7. Andi-Roo (@theworld4realz)
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 16:35:29

    #8 regarding college education being too slow to keep up with the speed of technological advances — my son just started college this year at our local community college, & I was amazed when he reported there are now computers at every desk in most classrooms. I mean, I just got my Associate’s from that school in 2006. *crazy* Here’s hoping your daughter & my son each gain something useful from their college experiences that transcends the physical part of their educations! Like… how to keep up in an ever-changing world!!! *yikes*

    Reply

  8. chapterfourfivesix
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 17:03:59

    Happy September! I’m sorry you have to vote against something instead of for someone- we’ve been doing it up here, too.

    Reply

  9. thechavagnesexperience
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 18:49:18

    Yes! Oh, yes. Glad you are back! Both my husband and I teach, so yeah ;)

    Reply

  10. Dugutigui
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 13:00:18

    2014 and nothing new… :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

